Group of nanobioengineering

Bioengineering department

Head: Oksana Nekrasova, Ph.D.
okatja@yandex.ru+7(495)3306638

bioengineering; Membrane proteins; Ligands; Ligand-receptor interactions

The group is aimed at the bioengineering of recombinant proteins and polypeptides, developing the procedures for their purification and renaturation, studies on the properties of recombinant molecules using physico-chemical methods, as well as the approaches and methods of nanotechnology.

The group collaborates with the departments of the IBCh RAS (Laboratory of optical microscopy and spectroscopy of biomolecules, the Molecular Instruments for Neurobiology Group and the Laboratory of molecular toxinology) and with Department of Bioengineering of the Biological Faculty of the Lomonosov Moscow State University and the Laboratory of Physicochemical Foundations of Reception of the Emanuel IBHF RAS.

Bioengineering group was formed in 2010 as a part of Bioengineering department of IBCh RAS.

  • Membrane engineering in living cells – bioengineering of recombinant receptor molecules that are targeted to and inserted into bacterial membrane, study of their ligand-binding activity at the surface of the cell membrane using fluorescent methods of detection. 
  • Development of bioengineering approaches to the production of recombinant membrane photosensitive proteins in order to study their structural organization and photochemical properties.
  • Development of bioengineering methods for obtaining soluble protein and peptide ligands in the functionally active form and studying their interaction with receptor proteins.

1.     A bioengineering test system was developed to study interactions of potassium channels with ligands. The test system is based on the use of fluorescently-labeled peptide probe and hybrid potassium channels that are embedded in the membrane of whole bacterial cells. The detection of ligand-receptor interactions is carried out by the method of laser scanning confocal microscopy (LSCM). Using the test system new blockers originating from animal venoms were identified that target Kv1.1 and Kv1.3 – potassium channels of important biomedical significance. With the help of molecular modeling methods, molecular determinants of interaction of peptide toxins with potassium channels were studied, and the mutant forms of peptide toxins were constructed with increased selectivity for the target channel. The principle of engineering of genetically encoded fluorescent ligands of potassium channels was developed with the aim to use them as fluorescent probes in binding studies and also for visualization of potassium channels in cells and tissues. The work is carried out in collaboration with departments of  IBCh - Laboratory of Optical Microscopy and Spectroscopy of Biomolecules, Laboratory of Molecular Instruments for Neurobiology, Laboratory of Molecular Toxinology, as well as Department of Bioengineering of the Biological Faculty of the Lomonosov Moscow State University.

2.     Bioengineering method was worked out for over-production of recombinant bacteriorhodopsin (Halobacterium salinarum) in E.coli expression system. Photochemical properties of recombinant bacteriorhodopsin were found to be similar to those of the monomeric form of the native protein. Recombinant bacteriorhodopsin and its mutants are used to study primary events of photocycle and mechanisms of energy transfer using the method of Femtosecond Transient Absorption Spectroscopy (in collaboration with the Laboratory of Physico-Chemical Basis of Reception, N.M. Emanuel Institute of Biochemical Physics RAS).

3.     New effective bioengineering methods have been developed for producing functionally active recombinant ligands, such as: disulfide-rich peptide toxins from scorpion venoms; efrin A1 - the ligand of  Ephrine receptors. The obtained peptides and proteins are used in various studies on ligand-receptor interactions. 

NamePositionContacts
Oksana Nekrasova, Ph.D.depart. dir.okatja@yandex.ru+7(495)3306638
Kseniya Kudryashova, Ph.D.r. f.rekamoskva@mail.ru
Elena Krjukovar. f.kelen.kryukova@yandex.ru+7(495)330-69-83
Sergej Yakimovres. eng.+7(495)330-72-74
Klara Birikh, Ph.D.sen. eng.+7(495)336-42-00

Former members:

Roman Tikhonov, Ph.D.s. r. f.

Selected publications (show all)

Loading...

Oksana Nekrasova

  • Russia, Moscow, Ul. Miklukho-Maklaya 16/10 — On the map
  • IBCh RAS, build. 52, office. 264
  • Phone: +7(495)3306638
  • E-mail: okatja@yandex.ru

MeKTx11-1, Kv1.2 channel –specific peptide blocker from the M.eupeus scorpion venom: structural basis of selectivity (2018-11-27)

Оksana V. Nekrasova, K.S.Kudryashova (Group of nanobioengineering, Bioengineering department), A.A. Vassilevski, A.I. Kuzmenkov, A.M. Gigolaev (Laboratory of molecular instruments for neurobiology), A.O. Chugunov, V.M. Tabakmakher, R.G. Efremov (Group of in silico analysis of membrane proteins structure, Laboratory of biomolecular modeling), A.V. Feofanov (Laboratory of optical microscopy and spectroscopy of biomolecules).

A unique high-affinity and highly selective peptide blocker of Kv1.2 channel, MeKTx11-1, from the scorpion venom Mesobuthus eupeus was studied. Peptide MeKTx11-1 and its mutant forms were produced in a recombinant form, and their receptor-binding activity was studied against a panel of Kv1-channels. Molecular modeling of interaction of these peptides with Kv1.2 channel was carried out, and key structural elements of the interactions were determined. Peptide MeKTx11-1 may be used as a novel efficient molecular tool in neurobiology to identify and study the activity of Kv1.2 channel in the presence of different isoforms of Kv1-channels.

In collaboration with S.Peigneur and J.Tytgat fromUniversity of Leuven, Belgium and A.F. Fradkov from Evrogen JSC.

An efficient method for production of recombinant α-КТх peptides – the blockers of potassium channels (2017-11-28)

A bioengineering method for production of peptide blockers of potassium Kv1 channels has been developed that provides: high yield of the target peptides (12-22 mg/l culture); retaining the native amino acid sequence of α-КТх peptides; high yield of the renatured form of the peptides with correctly formed three and four disulfide bonds; simple and reliable procedure of peptide isolation and purification. The recombinant peptides of the α-KTx family obtained by this method have the activity of the natural blockers. High affinity potassium channel blockers from scorpion venom are widely used to study the structure and function of the channels and have a promising medical value.

Development of integrated transcriptomic and proteomic approach to search for blockers of potassium channels in animal venoms (2016-03-27)

Authors: 

Kuzmenkov A.I. , Vassilevski A.A., Grishin Eu.V.

Department of molecular neurobiology

Kudryashova K.S., Nekrasova O.V., Kirpichnikov M.P. 

Bioengineering Department  

Feofanov A.V. 

Laboratory of optical microscopy and spectroscopy of biomolecules

Annotation: 

An original approach was developed to search for new ligands of potassium channels. It combines the bioengineering cellular test system and transcriptomic and proteomic analysis of animal venoms. Using this approach eight high-affinity peptide blockers of voltage-gated potassium channel Kv1.1 (including five new peptides) were found in the venom of the scorpion Mesobuthus eupeus. The proposed approach is a versatile and effective tool for directed search for  blockers of potassium channels in natural venoms.

Группа нанобиоинженерии

Отдел биоинженерии

Руководитель: Некрасова Оксана Васильевна, к. б. н.
okatja@yandex.ru+7(495)3306638

биоинженерия; мембранные белки; лиганды; лиганд-рецепторные взаимодействия

Работа группы направлена на биоинженерное конструирование рекомбинантных белков и полипептидов, разработку методов их выделения и ренатурации, изучения их свойств с привлечением современных физико-химических методов и методов  нанотехнологии.

Группа сотрудничает с Лабораторией оптической микроскопии и спектроскопии биомолекул, Группой молекулярных инструментов для нейробиологии, Лабораторией молекулярной токсинологии, а также с подразделениями других учреждений – кафедрой биоинженерии биологического факультета МГУ имени М.В. Ломоносова, лабораторией физико-химических основ рецепции ИБХФ им. Н.М. Эмануэля РАН.

Группа нанобиоинженерии образована в 2010 году в составе Отдела биоинженерии ИБХ РАН.

  • Биоинженерия клеточной мембраны целых клеток – биоинженерное конструирование и встраивание в бактериальную мембрану рекомбинантных мембранных рецепторов, изучение их лиганд-связывающих свойств в составе клеточной мембраны с использованием флуоресцентных методов детекции.
  • Разработка биоинженерных подходов к получению рекомбинантных мембранных светочувствительных белков с целью исследования их структурной организации и особенностей фотохимических превращений. 
  • Разработка биоинженерных методов получения растворимых белковых и пептидных лигандов в функционально-активной форме с целью изучения их взаимодействия с рецепторными белками. 

1.     Разработана биоинженерная тест-система изучения взаимодействия калиевых каналов с лигандами. Тест-система основана на использовании флуоресцентно-меченых пептидных зондов и гибридных калиевых каналов, встроенных в бактериальную мембрану целых клеток. Детекция лиганд-рецепторных взаимодействий осуществляется методом лазерной сканирующей конфокальной микроскопии (ЛСКМ). С помощью тест-системы в ядах животного происхождения найдены и охарактеризованы новые пептидные блокаторы калиевых каналов Kv1.1, Kv1.3, имеющих важное биомедицинское значение. С привлечением методов молекулярного моделирования проводится изучение молекулярных основ взаимодействия пептидных токсинов с калиевыми каналами, осуществляется конструирование мутантных форм пептидных токсинов с повышенной избирательностью действия в отношении канала-мишени. Разработан принцип создания генокодируемых флуорецентных лигандов калиевых каналов с целью их использования в качестве флуоресцентных зондов при изучении связывания пептидных блокаторов с каналами, а также для визуализации калиевых каналов в клетках и тканях. Работа проводится совместно с подразделениями ИБХ РАН – лабораторией оптической микроскопии и спектроскопии биомолекул, группой молекулярных инструментов для нейробиологии, лабораторией молекулярной токсинологии, а также с кафедрой биоинженерии биологического факультета МГУ имени М.В. Ломоносова.

2.     Разработан биоинженерный метод супер-продукции рекомбинантного бактериородопсина (из Halobacterium salinarum) в системе экспрессии E.coli. Фотохимические свойства рекомбинантного бактериородопсина аналогичны свойствам мономерной формы природного бактериородопсина. Рекомбинантный бактериородопсин и его мутантные формы используются для изучения первичных стадий фотоцикла и процессов переноса энергии методом фемтосекундной абсорбционной спектроскопии (совместно с лабораторией физико-химических основ рецепции ИБХФ им. Н.М. Эмануэля РАН). 

3.     Разработаны новые эффективные биоинженерные методы получения функционально-активных рекомбинантных лигандов: дисульфид-богатых пептидных токсинов из яда скорпионов; эфрина А1 - лиганда эфриновых рецепторов. Полученные рекомбинантные пептиды и белки используются в различных исследованиях лиганд-рецепторных взаимодействий.

Ф.И.О.ДолжностьКонтакты
Некрасова Оксана Васильевна, к. б. н.рук. подр.okatja@yandex.ru+7(495)3306638
Кудряшова Ксения Сергеевна, к. б. н.н.с.rekamoskva@mail.ru
Крюкова Елена Александровнан.с.kelen.kryukova@yandex.ru+7(495)330-69-83
Якимов Сергей Александровичинж.-иссл.+7(495)330-72-74
Бирих Клара Рудольфовна, к. б. н.ст. инж.+7(495)336-42-00

Ранее здесь работали:

Тихонов Роман Владимирович, к. х. н.с.н.с.

Избранные публикации (показать все)

Загружаются...

Научные проекты

Загружаются...

Некрасова Оксана Васильевна

  • Москва, ул. Миклухо-Маклая, 16/10 — На карте
  • ИБХ РАН, корп. 52, комн. 264
  • Тел.: +7(495)3306638
  • Эл. почта: okatja@yandex.ru

MeKTx11-1, селективный пептидный блокатор калиевого канала Kv1.2 из яда скорпиона M. eupeus: структурные основы селективности (2018-11-27)

Оксана В. Некрасова, К.С. Кудряшова (Отдел биоинженерии, группа нанобиоинженерии), А.А. Василевский, А.И. Кузьменков, А.М. Гиголаев (Лаборатория молекулярных инструментов для нейробиологии), А.О. Чугунов, В.М. Табакмахер, Р. Г. Ефремов (Группа анализа структуры мембранных белков in silico, Лаборатория моделирования биомолекулярных систем), А.В. Феофанов (Лаборатория оптической микроскопии и спектроскопии биомолекул).

Исследован уникальный высокоаффинный и высокоселективный пептидный блокатор канала Kv1.2 - MeKTx11-1 из яда скорпиона Mesobuthus eupeus. Пептид MeKTx11-1 и его мутантные аналоги были получены в рекомбинантной форме, их рецептор-связывающая активность изучена на панели Kv1-каналов. Проведено молекулярное моделирование взаимодействия этих пептидов с каналом Kv1.2, установлены ключевые структурные детерминанты этого взаимодействия. Пептид MeKTx11-1 является новым эффективным молекулярным инструментом для нейробиологии, позволяющим идентифицировать и изучать активность канала Kv1.2 в присутствии различных изоформ Kv1-каналов.

В сотрудничестве с S.Peigneur, J.Tytgat из University of Leuven, Бельгия и А.Ф. Фрадков из ООО Евроген.

Разработка эффективного метода получения рекомбинантных пептидов α-KTX – блокаторов калиевых каналов (2017-11-28)

Разработан биоинженерный метод получения пептидных блокаторов калиевых Kv1-каналов, который отличается: высоким выходом целевых пептидов (12-22 мг/л культуры);

сохранением нативной аминокислотной последовательности пептидов; высоким выходом ренатурированной формы пептидов с правильно замкнутыми тремя и четырьмя дисульфидными связями; простой и надежной процедурой выделения и очистки. Получаемые этим методом рекомбинантные пептиды семейства α-КТх обладают активностью исходных природных блокаторов. Пептидные высокоаффинные блокаторы  калиевых каналов из яда скорпионов широко используются для изучения структуры и функции каналов и имеют перспективное медицинское значение.

Разработка интегрального транскриптомного и протеомного подхода для поиска блокаторов калиевых каналов в яде животных (2016-03-27)

Авторы: 

Кузьменков А.И., Василевский А.А., Гришин Е.В. Отдел молекулярной нейробиологии.

Кудряшова К.С., Некрасова О.В., Кирпичников М.П. Отдел биоинженерии.

Феофанов А.В. Лаборатория оптической микроскопии и спектроскопии биомолекул. 

Аннотация: 

Разработан оригинальный подход для поиска новых лигандов калиевых каналов, объединяющий биоинженерную клеточную тест-систему и транскриптомный и протеомный анализ яда животных. С применением этого подхода из яда скорпиона Mesobuthus eupeus были получены восемь высокоаффинных пептидных блокаторов потенциал-зависимого калиевого канала Kv1.1, включая пять новых пептидов. Предложенный подход является универсальным и эффективным инструментом для направленного поиска блокаторов калиевых каналов в природных ядах.