Alley of distinguished scientists, friends of the IBCh

The birch trees in this alley were planted in June, 1984 by honorary guests of the 16th FEBS congress to celebrate the opening of a novel building of the IBCh and to mark the absence of borders in the scientific world.

Birch tree alley as of autumn, 2015.
Participants of the plantation (from left to right):: Linus Pauling, Elkan Blout, academician Yuri Ovchinnikov, Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, academician Anatoly Alexandrov, Yuri Shilobreev (one of the engineers), Vladimir Bystrov.

These honorary scientists contributed not only to research but also to IBCh resettlement:

  • A. Alexandrov (Moscow, USSR)
  • R. Arnon (Rehovot, Israel)
  • A. Azzi (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • A. Birch (Canberra, Australia)
  • E. Blout (Boston, USA)
  • G. Blobel (New York, USA)
  • T. Weiland (Munich, Germany)
  • K. Wuthrich (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • M. Grunberg-Manago (Paris, France)
  • M. Goodman (San Diego, USA)
  • H. Zahn (Aachen, Germany)
  • I. Kagawa (Tochigi, Japan)
  • E. Carafoli (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • E. Katchalski-Katzir (Rehovot, Israel)
  • M. Cortijo (Madrid, Spain)
  • A. Kotyk (Prague, Czechoslovakia)
  • D. Hodgkin (Oxford, Great Britain)
  • J.-M. Lehn (Paris, France)
  • F. Mayor (Madrid, Spain)
  • Yu. Ovchinnikov (Moscow, USSR)
  • D. Oesterhelt (Munich, Germany)
  • S. Papa (Bari, Italy)
  • A. Patchornik (Rehovot, Israel)
  • L. Pauling (Los Angeles, USA)
  • V. Prelog (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • A. Paiva (San Paulo, Brasil)
  • B. Pulman (Paris, France)
  • A. Rich (Boston, USA)
  • J. Szentagothai (Budapest, Hungary)
  • M. Sela (Rehovot, Israel)
  • G. Semenza (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • E. Smith (Los Angeles, USA)
  • A. Todd (Cambridge, Great Britain)
  • J. Walker (Cambridge, Great Britain)
  • S. Fukui (Kyoto, Japan)
  • R. Huber (Munich, Germany)
  • R. Hucho (Berlin, Germany)
  • D. Chapman (London, Great Britain)
  • R. Scwytzer (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • B. Straub (Szeged, Hungary)
  • J.-P. Ebel (Strasbourg, France)
  • L. Ernster (Stockholm, Sweden)
  • K. Yagi (Osaka, Japan)