Маттай Айан

Личная информация

since 2005 Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

1999 - 2005 Scientific Director, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

1990 - 2005 Programme Coordinator, Gene Expression Programme (EMBL)

1985 - 1990 Group Leader at EMBL

1982 - 1985 Postdoctoral Research at the Biocenter, University of Basel with Dr. Eddy De


1979 - 1982 Postdoctoral research at the Friedrich-Miescher-Institute, Basel, with Dr.

Jean-Pierre Jost

1978 - 1979 Postdoctoral research at the University of Leeds, Dept. of Genetics, UK

1974 - 1978 Postgraduate studies at the University of Leeds, Dept. of Genetics, UK with

Dr. John Wootton

1970 - 1974 Undergraduate studies at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland

Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina


Научные интересы

Iain Mattaj’s early work centered on a group of ribonucleoprotein particles, the U snRNPs, that function in the processing of messenger RNA precursors.

His analyses of these RNPs spanned a variety of topics including transcription of the RNA components, RNA-protein interactions, function of the RNPs in messenger RNA production and assembly of the RNPs from their component parts in vivo.

This work led to numerous studies of transport of RNA and proteins between the cell nucleus and cytoplasm. Prof. Mattaj’s group identified numerous factors and mechanisms involved in this important process.

Iain Mattaj’s most recent work is focused on aspects of the regulation of processes that occur during cell division, including spindle formation and nuclear envelope breakdown and reassembly.

Членство в научных обществах

since 2001 Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), Barcelona, Spain

2001 - 2010 Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK

2000 - 2003 French Government “Genopole” Programme review committee

2000 - 2001 Managing Board of E-Biosci, the European electronic publishing initiative

since 2000 Wellcome Trust / MRC / University of Dundee, Institutes of Biochemistry and Cell Biology (Chair)

2000 - 2009 Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tübingen (Chair), Germany

2010 Honorary Doctorate, University of Edinburgh, UK

2010 Recipient of the Science and Society Award of the Italian Chemical Society

2006 Honorary Professor, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Germany

since 2006 Member of the Science Committee for the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine

2006 - 2010 Member of the Life Sciences Search Committee for the Körber Prize

2005 Delivered the “Severo Ochoa Commemorative Lecture” marking th centenar of Ochoa’s birth in Madrid, Spain

2005 Elected member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

since 2003 Curator of the Lautenschläger Research Prize

since 2002 Trustee of the Darwin Trust, a charitable trust dedicated to supporting young scientists from developing countries

2001 Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

2001 Awarded Honorary Membership of the Japanese Biochemical Society on

presentation of the “President’s Symposium Plenary Lecture”

2001 Awarded the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine

2001 Awarded the Caledonian Research Foundation/RSE prize lectureship

2000 Elected “Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, FRSE”

1999 Elected “Fellow of the Royal Society, FRS” Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina www.leopoldina.org

1999 Elected member of Academia Europaea