Group of Immunosequencing Algorithms

The Group main focus lies in developing computational methods and bioinformatic solutions dedicated to pre-processing, analysis and interpretation of deep immune repertoire sequencing data. We aim at transforming the readout of millions of T- and B-cell receptor sequences into immunologically relevant features, such as the overall immune repertoire diversity, the magnitude of selection pressure coming from self and foreign antigens, and, ultimately, the ability of certain T- and B-cells to mount an effective response against specific pathogens.

The Group collaborates with Immunosequencing methods laboratory (Prof Chudakov DM), Structural organization of T-cell immunity group (Dr Britanova OV), Laboratory of Comparative and Functional Genomics (Prof Lebedev YuB, Dr Mamedov IZ, Dr Zvyagin IV), Prof. Can Kesmir, Utrecht University, Prof. Andrew Sewell, Cardiff University, Prof. David Price, Cardiff University.

The group has branched from the Prof Chudakov's Genomics of Adaptive Immunity Lab at 2017.

  • Developing algorithms for comprehensive analysis of T- and B-cell receptor sequencing data. These algorithms include basic summary statistics such as rearrangement probabilities for certain germline segments, physicochemical characteristics of hypervariable CDR3 regions, somatic hypermutation profiles and lineage tracing for B-cells.
  • Developing and maintaining the database of T-cell receptors (TCRs) with known antigen specificities (VDJdb, vdjdb.cdr3.net). The database contains T-cell receptor sequences encoding receptors that were experimentally validated to recognize known epitopes in a given HLA context.
  • Developing and maintaining the database of TCR:peptide:MHC structures. Developing TCR specificity prediction algorithms that integrate structural data with the TCR specificity database to predict TCR recognition based on linear amino acid sequences of TCR, peptide and MHC.
  • HLA binding prediction. Inferring the effect of certain HLA alleles on the structure of T-cell repertoire and the set of so-called "public" clonotypes. Using HLA binding prediction and cognate TCR repertoire data to infer antigen immunogenicity.

Mikhail Shugay

Группа алгоритмов иммуносеквенирования

Группа занимается разработкой вычислительных методов и биоинформатических решений для обработки, анализа и интерпретации результатов глубокого секвенирования иммунных репертуаров. Основная цель Группы – создание методов, позволяющих преобразовывать данные миллионов прочтений последовательностей Т- и В-клеточных рецепторов в компактный набор иммунологически важных характеристик, таких как разнообразие репертуара, давление селекции собственных и чужеродных антигенов и способность Т- и В-клеток организовывать эффективный иммунный ответ против определенных антигенов.

Группа сотрудничает с Лабораторией методов иммуносеквенирования (Чудаков Д.М.), Группой структурной организации Т-клеточного иммунитета (Др. Британова О.В.), Лабораторией сравнительной и функциональной геномики (Проф. Лебедев Ю.Б., Др. Мамедов И.З., Др. Звягин И.В.), Prof. Can Kesmir, Utrecht University, Prof. Andrew Sewell, Cardiff University, Prof. David Price, Cardiff University.

Группа сформировалась в 2017 году, ранее находясь в составе Лаборатории Геномики Адаптивного Иммунитета проф. Чудакова Д.М.. (ныне – Лаборатория методов иммуносеквенирования).

  • Разработка алгоритмов для статистического анализа Т- и В-клеточных репертуаров. Расчет характеристик, включающих вероятностные модели V-(D)-J сборок, физико-химические характеристики гипервариабельного региона CDR3, профили соматических гипермутаций и клональные деревья В-клеток.
  • Разработка и поддержка базы данных Т-клеточных рецепторов с известной антигенной специфичностью (VDJdb, vdjdb.cdr3.net). Данная база включает в себя экспериментально верифицированные последовательности Т-клеточных рецепторов, способные распознавать определенные эпитопы в заданном контексте HLA.
  • Разработка и поддержка базы данных с известными структурами комплексов TCR:антиген:MHC. Разработка алгоритмов предсказания специфичности Т-клеточных рецепторов, интегрирующих в себя информацию из структурных данных и базы VDJdb и позволяющих проводить предсказание по линейным аминокислотным последовательностям Т-клеточного рецептора, антигена и MHC.
  • Предсказание презентации пептидов на различных аллелях HLA. Выявление влияния определенных аллелей HLA на структуру Т-клеточного репертуара и набор так называемых «публичных» клонотипов. Использование предсказаний связывания с HLA и репертуара специфичных Т-клеточных рецепторов для объяснения различий в иммуногенности антигенов.

Шугай Михаил Александрович