Laboratory of Biophotonics

Department of Genetics and Postgenomic Technologies

Head: Konstantin Lukyanov, corresponding member of the academy of sciences
kluk@ibch.ru+7(495)995-55-57#2518

Fluorescent proteins, photoactivatable fluorescent proteins, genetically encoded fluorescent sensors, live cell labeling, genetically encoded photosensitizers

Laboratory works on development of novel fluorescent tags and methods of fluorescence labeling of biological objects. The main focus is on the fluorescent proteins of GFP family, and also on other methods of noninvasive visualization of structures and processes in live cells. These methods are widely used in biomedical research enabling deciphering the molecular mechanisms of various normal and pathological phenomena and facilitating preclinical drug screening.

We are fully equipped for gene-engineering works, mammalian cell culture works, fluorescence and laser scanning confocal microscopy, and optical spectroscopy.

Laboratory collaborates with many groups of the Institute: Total Synthesis Lab on studying physic-chemical properties of fluorescent protein chromophores and developing novel methods of fluorescence labeling using their analogs; Molecular technologies laboratory on development of novel fluorescent sensors; Laboratory of X-ray study on analysis of 3D structure of fluorescent proteins and structure-guided changes of their spectral properties; Laboratory of molecular bases of embryogenesis on application of fluorescent tools for developmental studies.

Also, Laboratory collaborates with Institute of Biomedical Technologies (Nizhny Novgorod Medical State Academy) on novel methods of super-resolution fluorescence microscopy and on fluorescence imaging of mouse tumor models; Laboratory of Physical Biochemistry (A.N. Bach Institute of Biochemistry) on fluorescence lifetime imaging microscopy of biological models; Kyril Solntsev (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA) on ultrafast spectroscopy of fluorescent proteins; laboratory of Anna Krylov (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA) on studying physic-chemical processes in fluorescent proteins; laboratory of Vladislav Verkhusha (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY) on development of novel fluorescent proteins; laboratory of Jens Meiler (Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN) on computer modeling of fluorescent proteins.

Laboratory was separated in 2009 from Laboratory of Molecular Technologies for Biology and Medicine headed by Sergey Lukyanov; our team is working with fluorescent proteins since 1999.

Novel fluorescent proteins

GFP and related fluorescent proteins are widely used as genetically encoded tags for visualization of proteins and cell populations in live systems. We use site-directed and random mutagenesis to create new variants of fluorescent proteins. This approach allows to generate proteins with usual spectral properties due to new chromophore structures or altered amino acid environment of the chromophore. In addition, we are working on improvement of fluorescent proteins characteristics such as brightness and photostability that are important for their practical applications.

Chudakov DM, et al. Fluorescent proteins and their applications in imaging living cells and tissues. Physiol Rev. 2010, 90, 1103-63.

Pletnev VZ, et al. Structure of the red fluorescent protein from a lancelet (Branchiostoma lanceolatum): a novel GYG chromophore covalently bound to a nearby tyrosine. Acta Crystallogr D Biol Crystallogr. 2013, 69, 1850-60.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. Green fluorescent protein with anionic tryptophan-based chromophore and long fluorescence lifetime. Biophys J. 2015, 109, 380-9.

Mishin AS, et al. Novel uses of fluorescent proteins. Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2015, 27, 1-9.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. Local fitness landscape of the green fluorescent protein. Nature. 2016, 533, 397-401.

Bozhanova NG, et al. Yellow and Orange Fluorescent Proteins with Tryptophan-based Chromophores. ACS Chem Biol. 2017 Jul 21;12(7):1867-1873.

Povarova NV, et al. Functioning of Fluorescent Proteins in Aggregates in Anthozoa Species and in Recombinant Artificial Models. Int J Mol Sci. 2017 Jul 12;18(7). pii: E1503. doi: 10.3390/ijms18071503.

Bozhanova NG, et al. Protein labeling for live cell fluorescence microscopy with a highly photostable renewable signal. Chem. Sci., 2017, 8, 7138-7142.

 

Novel genetically encoded sensors

We are working on new fluorescent protein-based sensors for various regulatory activities, which enable quantitative visualization of the target events in live cells. For example, we recently developed ratiometric sensor for nonsense-mediated mRNA decay (NMD) and far-red sensor for caspase-3.

Gurskaya NG, et al. Analysis of alternative splicing of cassette exons at single-cell level using two fluorescent proteins. Nucleic Acids Res. 2012, 40, e57.

Pereverzev AP, et al. Method for quantitative analysis of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay at the single cell level. Sci Rep. 2015, 5, 7729.

Zlobovskaya OA, et al. Genetically encoded far-red fluorescent sensors for caspase-3 activity. Biotechniques. 2016, 60, 62-8.

Sergeeva TF, et al. Relationship between intracellular pH, metabolic co-factors and caspase-3 activation in cancer cells during apoptosis. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2017, 1864(3):604-611.

Kost LA, Nikitin ES, Ivanova VO, Sung U, Putintseva EV, Chudakov DM, Balaban PM, Lukyanov KA, Bogdanov AM. Insertion of the voltage-sensitive domain into circularly permuted red fluorescent protein as a design for genetically encoded voltage sensor. PLoS One. 2017 Sep 1;12(9):e0184225.

 

Photoconversions of fluorescent proteins

Photoactivatable fluorescent proteins (PAFP) are used for tracking movements of proteins, organelles and cells in live systems, as well as for super-resolution fluorescence microscopy. Earlier, our team developed several PAFPs, such as KFP1, PS-CFP and Dendra, which were among the world's first members of this protein type. Currently, we continue to work on development of new PAFPs and PAFP-based techniques.

In 2009 we discovered oxidative photoconversion of green fluorescent proteins based on electron transfer from the chromophore to an external molecule of electron acceptor. We are studying mechanisms of this phenomenon and development of methods of its practical applications (for example, for enhancement of fluorescent protein photostability).

In collaboration with Nizhny Novgorod State Medical Academy we work on development of novel labels and methods of super-resolution fluorescence microscopy (PALM/STORM single molecule localization microscopy).

Chudakov DM, et al. Kindling fluorescent proteins for precise in vivo photolabeling. Nat Biotechnol. 2003, 21, 191-4.

Gurskaya NG, et al. Engineering of a monomeric green-to-red photoactivatable fluorescent protein induced by blue light. Nat Biotechnol. 2006, 24, 461-5.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Green fluorescent proteins are light-induced electron donors. Nat Chem Biol. 2009, 5, 459-61.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Cell culture medium affects GFP photostability: a solution. Nat Methods. 2009, 6, 859-60.

Mamontova AV, et al. Influence of cell growth conditions and medium composition on EGFP photostability in live cells. Biotechniques. 2015, 58, 258-61.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Turning On and Off Photoinduced Electron Transfer in Fluorescent Proteins by π-Stacking, Halide Binding, and Tyr145 Mutations. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138, 4807-4817.

Acharya A, et al. Photoinduced Chemistry in Fluorescent Proteins: Curse or Blessing? Chem Rev. 2017 Jan 25;117(2):758-795.

Klementieva NV, et al. Green-to-red primed conversion of Dendra2 using blue and red lasers. Chem Commun (Camb). 2016 Nov 18;52(89):13144-13146.

Klementieva NV, et al. Intrinsic blinking of red fluorescent proteins for super-resolution microscopy. Chem Commun (Camb). 2017 Jan 10;53(5):949-951.

 

Genetically encoded photosensitizers

Phototoxic fluorescent proteins (the first such protein, KillerRed, was developed by us in 2006) produce reactive oxygen species (ROS) upon light illumination. We are developing this optoginetic technology, which makes it possible to induce oxidative stress in target cell compartments, inactivate proteins and kill specific cell populations using light.  

Bulina ME, et al. A genetically encoded photosensitizer. Nat Biotechnol. 2006, 24, 95-9.

Lukyanov KA, et al. Fluorescent proteins as light-inducible photochemical partners. Photochem Photobiol Sci. 2010, 9, 1301-6.

Serebrovskaya EO, et al. Phototoxic effects of lysosome-associated genetically encoded photosensitizer KillerRed. J Biomed Opt. 2014,19, 071403.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. KillerOrange, a Genetically Encoded Photosensitizer Activated by Blue and Green Light. PLoS One. 2015, 10, e0145287.

2002—2006. A panel of photoactivated fluorescent proteins with different types of light-induced spectral transitions was introduced: nonflourescent-to-red (KFP1), blue-to-green (PS-CFP), and green-to-red (Dendra). These newly developed instruments KFP1, PS-CFP and Dendra were applied for precise photolabeling of cells, cell organelles, and proteins and subsequent tracking of the labeled object. The new tools were also used for monitoring the target protein degradation in an individual cell in real time using fluorescence confocal microscopy.

2005—2006. The first genetically encoded photosensitizer was created. This phototoxic red fluorescent protein named KillerRed can be used for precise light-induced destruction of proteins and cell killing.

2005—2007. A panel of improved fluorescent proteins for practical applications was created using the methods of directed molecular evolution. Particularly, there were obtained red and far-red fluorescent proteins, exceeding all known analogs in brightness. Bright far-red fluorescent proteins open up new prospects in whole-body fluorescent imaging technology.

2005—2008. First syntheses of chromophores of red fluorescent proteins (asFP595, Kaede, zFP538) and their structural analogs were performed. This work revealed various aspects of structure-properties relationship in this group of chromophores and allowed to propose promising amino-acid substitutions in fluorescent proteins to obtain variants with novel spectral properties.

Selected publications (show all)

Loading...

Konstantin Lukyanov

  • Russia, Moscow, Ul. Miklukho-Maklaya 16/10 — On the map
  • IBCh RAS, build. 34, office. 522
  • Phone: +7(495)995-55-57#2518
  • E-mail: kluk@ibch.ru

Photoswitchable red fluorescent proteins for nanoscopy of live cells (2018-11-27)

We developed new reversibly photoswitchable red fluorescent proteins based on FusionRed. These proteins, rsFusionRed1, 2 and 3, can be switched OFF and ON and by orange and green light, respectively. This photoswitching behavior allows to avoid illumination by phototoxic violet and blue light, which is commonly used for other photoswitchable proteins. Due to high brightness, high photostability, rapid photoswitching and low phototoxic excitation wavelengths rsFusionReds represent excellent tags for nanoscale imaging of living cells.

Publications

  1. Pennacchietti F, Serebrovskaya EO, Faro AR, Shemyakina II, Bozhanova NG, Kotlobay AA, Gurskaya NG, Bodén A, Dreier J, Chudakov DM, Lukyanov KA, Verkhusha VV, Mishin AS, Testa I (2018). Fast reversibly photoswitching red fluorescent proteins for live-cell RESOLFT nanoscopy. Nat Methods 15 (8), 601–604

A method of protein labeling in live cells based on fluorogen and fluorogen-binding protein (2017-11-28)

We developed a new method of target protein labeling called Protein-PAINT. This method is based on reversible binding of a protein domain with a fluorogenic dye that leads to a strong increase in fluorescence intensity. Using computer molecular docking we engineered three mutants of bacterial lipocalin Blc with different affinities to the fluorogen. It was shown that the fluorogen enters live cell quickly and stains target proteins fused with the Blc mutants. The new method ensures an order of magnitude higher photostability of the fluorescence signal in comparison with fluorescent proteins. Protein-PAINT also enables prolonged super-resolution fluorescence microscopy of living cells in both single molecule detection and stimulated emission depletion regimes.

Deep structure-functional analysis of amino acid substitutions on photophysical properties of green fluorescent proteins (2016-11-24)

A so called “fitness landscape” was for the first time experimentally probed at the whole protein level using GFP as a model. A unique approach developed in this work enabled to correlate a function (fluorescence) with amino acid sequence of several tens of thousands of random mutants, revealing a number of negative and positive epistatic interactions between substitutions. Characterization of the GFP fitness landscape allows for computer prediction of properties of new mutants of fluorescent proteins. It also has important implications for several fields including molecular evolution and protein design.

Using calculations of the possible electron transfer pathways from excited GFP chromophore to external molecules and further experimental verification of these hypotheses, we constructed mutants with blocked electron transfer pathway and correspondingly increased photostability. This strategy may represent a new approach toward enhancing photostability of fluorescent proteins.

 

Figure. (A) Scheme of GFP fitness landscape derived from analysis of 51000 mutants. The GFP sequence arranged in a circle, each column representing one amino acid site. In the first circle, the colour intensity of the squares indicates the brightness of a single mutation at the corresponding site relative to the wild type, shown in the centre. Sites with positive and negative epistatic interactions between pairs of mutations are connected by green and black lines, respectively. In circles further away from the centre, representing genotypes with multiple mutations, the fraction of the column coloured green (black) represents the fraction of genotypes corresponding to high (low) fluorescence among all assayed genotypes with a mutation at that site. (B) Electron transfer in GFP. Upper panel – scheme of calculated pathway of electron transfer from the chromophore to external acceptor molecule via tyrosine-145 as an intermediate electron acceptor. Bottom panel – photobleaching curves of EGFP and its mutants in the presence of oxidant in the medium, showing a dramatic enhancement of photostability due to blocking the electron transfer pathway. 

Publications

  1. Acharya A, Bogdanov AM, Grigorenko BL, Bravaya KB, Nemukhin AV, Lukyanov KA, Krylov AI (2017). Photoinduced chemistry in fluorescent proteins: Curse or blessing? Chem Rev 117 (2), 758–795
  2. Sarkisyan KS, Bolotin DA, Meer MV, Usmanova DR, Mishin AS, Sharonov GV, Ivankov DN, Bozhanova NG, Baranov MS, Soylemez O, Bogatyreva NS, Vlasov PK, Egorov ES, Logacheva MD, Kondrashov AS, Chudakov DM, Putintseva EV, Mamedov IZ, Tawfik DS, Lukyanov KA, Kondrashov FA (2016). Local fitness landscape of the green fluorescent protein. Nature 533 (7603), 397–401
  3. Bogdanov AM, Acharya A, Titelmayer AV, Mamontova AV, Bravaya KB, Kolomeisky AB, Lukyanov KA, Krylov AI (2016). Turning on and off Photoinduced Electron Transfer in Fluorescent Proteins by π-Stacking, Halide Binding, and Tyr145 Mutations. J Am Chem Soc 138 (14), 4807–4817

Method for analysis of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay in the single live cells using fluorescent proteins (2016-03-17)

Nonsense-mediated mRNA decay (NMD) is an evolutionary conserved mechanism of recognition and degradation of transcripts with a premature stop-codon. Recent studies demonstrated that NMD plays an important role in global regulation of gene expression. We developed novel reporter of NMD activity based on fluorescent proteins. It enables quantitative analysis of NMD activity at the level of single live cells (this cannot be done by any other known method of NMD analysis). Using our NMD reporter, we revealed strong differences of NMD activity between mammalian cell lines. Also, a phenomenon of significant heterogeneity of NMD activity within some cell lines was observed for the first time. In particular, subpopulations of cells with high and low NMD activity were detected in HEK293, Jurkat, and HaCaT cells. Our method opens new possibilities to decipher mechanisms of NMD regulation as well as to study consequences of low NMD activity on gene expression patterns and cell physiology.

Лаборатория биофотоники

Отдел геномики и постгеномных технологий

Руководитель: Лукьянов Константин Анатольевич, чл.-корр. РАН
kluk@ibch.ru+7(495)995-55-57#2518

Флуоресцентные белки, фотоактивируемые флуоресцентные белки, генетически кодируемые флуоресцентные сенсоры, мечение живых клеток, генетически кодируемые фотосенсибилизаторы

Лаборатория работает над созданием новых флуоресцентных меток и методов флуоресцентного мечения биологических объектов. Особый интерес для нас представляют флуоресцентные белки семейства GFP (Green fluorescent protein) и другие методы неинвазивного флуоресцентного мечения, которые позволяют наблюдать структуры и процессы в живых клетках. Такие методы находят широкое применение в биомедицинских исследованиях, помогая расшифровать молекулярные механизмы разнообразных нормальных и патологических процессов и упрощая проведение доклинических испытаний лекарственных препаратов.

Лаборатория оснащена всем необходимым для проведения генно-инженерных работ, ведения культур клеток млекопитающих, флуоресцентной и лазерной сканирующей конфокальной микроскопии и оптической спектроскопии.

Лаборатория активно сотрудничает со многими лабораториями и группами Института: группой синтеза природных соединений ИБХ по изучению физико-химических свойств хромофоров флуоресцентных белков и созданию методов флуоресцентного мечения на основе их аналогов; с лабораторией молекулярных технологий ИБХ по разработке новых флуоресцентных сенсоров; с лабораторией рентгеноструктурного анализа ИБХ по анализу пространственной структуры флуоресцентных белков и направленному изменению их спектральных свойств; с лабораторией молекулярных основ эмбриогенеза ИБХ по применению флуоресцентных инструментов для изучения индивидуального развития.

Кроме того, Лаборатория работает над исследованиями совместно с Научно-исследовательским институтом биомедицинских технологий Нижегородской государственной медицинской академии по развитию методов флуоресцентной микроскопии сверхвысокого разрешения, а также по применению флуоресцентного мечения в мышиных моделях опухолеобразования; с лабораторией физической биохимии Института биохимии им. А.Н.Баха РАН по развитию методов время-разрешенной микроскопии для анализа биологических объектов; с Кириллом Солнцевым (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA) по время-разрешенной спектроскопии флуоресцентных белков и хромофоров; с лабораторией Анны Крыловой (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA) по изучению физико-химических процессов во флуоресцентных белках; с лабораторией Владислава Верхуши (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY) по созданию новых флуоресцентных белков; с лабораторией Jens Meiler (Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN) по компьютерному моделированию флуоресцентных белков.

Лаборатория была образована в 2009 году путем выделения из лаборатории молекулярных технологий для биологии и медицины под руководством Сергея Анатольевича Лукьянова. Коллектив работает с флуоресцентными белками с 1999 года.

Новые флуоресцентные белки

GFP и другие флуоресцентные белки широко применяются как генетически кодируемые метки для визуализации белков и клеточных популяций в живых системах. Мы используем направленный и случайный мутагенез для создания новых вариантов флуоресцентных белков. Такой подход позволяет получать белки с необычными спектральными свойствами, определяемыми новыми хромофорными группами или аминокислотным окружением хромофора. Кроме того, мы работаем над улучшением таких характеристик, как яркость и фотостабильность, важных для практического применения  флуоресцентных белков. 

Chudakov DM, et al. Fluorescent proteins and their applications in imaging living cells and tissues. Physiol Rev. 2010, 90, 1103-63.

Pletnev VZ, et al. Structure of the red fluorescent protein from a lancelet (Branchiostoma lanceolatum): a novel GYG chromophore covalently bound to a nearby tyrosine. Acta Crystallogr D Biol Crystallogr. 2013, 69, 1850-60.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. Green fluorescent protein with anionic tryptophan-based chromophore and long fluorescence lifetime. Biophys J. 2015, 109, 380-9.

Mishin AS, et al. Novel uses of fluorescent proteins. Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2015, 27, 1-9.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. Local fitness landscape of the green fluorescent protein. Nature. 2016, 533, 397-401.

Bozhanova NG, et al. Yellow and Orange Fluorescent Proteins with Tryptophan-based Chromophores. ACS Chem Biol. 2017 Jul 21;12(7):1867-1873.

Povarova NV, et al. Functioning of Fluorescent Proteins in Aggregates in Anthozoa Species and in Recombinant Artificial Models. Int J Mol Sci. 2017 Jul 12;18(7). pii: E1503. doi: 10.3390/ijms18071503.

Bozhanova NG, et al. Protein labeling for live cell fluorescence microscopy with a highly photostable renewable signal. Chem. Sci., 2017, 8, 7138-7142.

 

Новые генетически кодируемые сенсоры

Мы ведем работу по созданию новых сенсоров на различные регуляторные активности на основе флуоресцентных белков, которые позволяют проводить количественную визуализацию целевых процессов в живых клетках. Например, недавно нами был разработан сенсор активности каскада нонсенс-опосредованной деградации мРНК (nonsense-mediated mRNA decay, NMD), а также дальнекрасный сенсор активности каспазы-3.

Gurskaya NG, et al. Analysis of alternative splicing of cassette exons at single-cell level using two fluorescent proteins. Nucleic Acids Res. 2012, 40, e57.

Pereverzev AP, et al. Method for quantitative analysis of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay at the single cell level. Sci Rep. 2015, 5, 7729.

Zlobovskaya OA, et al. Genetically encoded far-red fluorescent sensors for caspase-3 activity. Biotechniques. 2016, 60, 62-8.

Sergeeva TF, et al. Relationship between intracellular pH, metabolic co-factors and caspase-3 activation in cancer cells during apoptosis. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2017, 1864(3):604-611.

Kost LA, Nikitin ES, Ivanova VO, Sung U, Putintseva EV, Chudakov DM, Balaban PM, Lukyanov KA, Bogdanov AM. Insertion of the voltage-sensitive domain into circularly permuted red fluorescent protein as a design for genetically encoded voltage sensor. PLoS One. 2017 Sep 1;12(9):e0184225.

 

Фотоконверсии флуоресцентных белков

Фотоактивируемые флуоресцентные белки (ФАФБ) широко используются для слежения за движением белков, органелл и клеток в живых системах, а также во флуоресцентной микроскопии сверхвысокого разрешения. Ранее нашим коллективом были получены одни из первых ФАФБ, такие как KFP1, PS-CFP и Dendra. В настоящее время мы продолжаем работы по получению новых ФАФБ, а также созданию новых методов их применения.

В 2009 г нами была открыта окислительная фотоконверсия зеленых флуоресцентных белков, основанная на передаче электронов от хромофора на молекулу внешнего акцептора электронов. Мы продолжаем исследование механизмов данного явления и разработку методов его практического использования (например, для увеличения фотостабильн ости флуоресцентных белков).

В сотрудничестве с Нижегородской медицинской академией мы работаем над новыми метками и методами флуоресцентной микроскопии сверхвысокого разрешения на основе детекции единичных молекул (локализационная микроскопия единичных молекул PALM/STORM).

Chudakov DM, et al. Kindling fluorescent proteins for precise in vivo photolabeling. Nat Biotechnol. 2003, 21, 191-4. 

Gurskaya NG, et al. Engineering of a monomeric green-to-red photoactivatable fluorescent protein induced by blue light. Nat Biotechnol. 2006, 24, 461-5.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Green fluorescent proteins are light-induced electron donors. Nat Chem Biol. 2009, 5, 459-61.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Cell culture medium affects GFP photostability: a solution. Nat Methods. 2009, 6, 859-60.

Mamontova AV, et al. Influence of cell growth conditions and medium composition on EGFP photostability in live cells. Biotechniques. 2015, 58, 258-61.

Bogdanov AM, et al. Turning On and Off Photoinduced Electron Transfer in Fluorescent Proteins by π-Stacking, Halide Binding, and Tyr145 Mutations. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138, 4807-4817.

Acharya A, et al. Photoinduced Chemistry in Fluorescent Proteins: Curse or Blessing? Chem Rev. 2017 Jan 25;117(2):758-795.

Klementieva NV, et al. Green-to-red primed conversion of Dendra2 using blue and red lasers. Chem Commun (Camb). 2016 Nov 18;52(89):13144-13146.

Klementieva NV, et al. Intrinsic blinking of red fluorescent proteins for super-resolution microscopy. Chem Commun (Camb). 2017 Jan 10;53(5):949-951.

 

Генетически кодируемые фотосенсибилизаторы

Фототоксичные флуоресцентные белки, первый из которых – KillerRed – был создан нами в 2006 году, продуцируют активные формы кислорода (АФК) при облучении светом. Мы продолжаем развитие данной оптогенетической технологии, которая дает возможность создавать окислительный стресс в целевых клеточных компартментах, инактивировать белки и вызывать клеточную гибель специфических клеточных популяций с помощью света.

Bulina ME, et al. A genetically encoded photosensitizer. Nat Biotechnol. 2006, 24, 95-9.

Lukyanov KA, et al. Fluorescent proteins as light-inducible photochemical partners. Photochem Photobiol Sci. 2010, 9, 1301-6.

Serebrovskaya EO, et al. Phototoxic effects of lysosome-associated genetically encoded photosensitizer KillerRed. J Biomed Opt. 2014,19, 071403.

Sarkisyan KS, et al. KillerOrange, a Genetically Encoded Photosensitizer Activated by Blue and Green Light. PLoS One. 2015, 10, e0145287.

2002—2006. Создана панель фотоактивируемых флуоресцентных белков с различным типом свето-индуцируемых спектральных переходов: нефлуоресцентный→красный (KFP1), голубой→зеленый (PS-CFP) и зеленый→красный (Dendra). Продемонстрирована применимость KFP1, PS-CFP и Dendra для прицельного фотомечения клеток, внутриклеточных органелл и белков и последующего слежение за их перемещениями, а также для мониторинга деградации целевых белков на уровне отдельных клеток в реальном времени с помощью флуоресцентной и конфокальной лазерной сканирующей микроскопии.

2005—2006. Создан первый генетически кодируемый фотосенсибилизатор — фототоксичный красный флуоресцентный белок, названный KillerRed, который может быть использован для прицельного свето-индуцированного уничтожения клеток и белков.

2005—2007. Методами направленной молекулярной эволюции получены улучшенные флуоресцентные белки, адаптированные к практическому применению. В частности, получены красные и дальне-красные белки, превосходящие по яркости все известные аналогичные флуоресцентные белки, разработанные в других лабораториях мира. Яркие дальне-красные флуоресцентные белки открывают новые перспективы флуоресцентного мечения лабораторных животных на уровне целых организмов.

2005—2008. Впервые осуществлен синтез «красных» хромофоров природных GFP-подобных белков — asFP595, Kaede и их аналоги. Данная работа позволила выявить закономерности влияния различных заместителей на спектральные свойства хромофоров, а также предложить перспективные направления мутагенеза флуоресцентных белков с целью получения вариантов с новыми спектральными характеристиками.

Ф.И.О.ДолжностьКонтакты
Лукьянов Константин Анатольевич, чл.-корр. РАНрук. подр.kluk@ibch.ru+7(495)995-55-57#2518
Гурская Надежда Георгиевна, к. б. н.с.н.с.ngurskaya@ibch.ru+7(499)742-81-22
Плетнёва Надежда Владимировна, к. х. н.с.н.с.nadand@mail.ru+7(495)3365111
Мишин Александр Сергеевич, к. б. н.с.н.с.mishin@ibch.ru+7(495)995-55-57#2518
Богданов Алексей Михайлович, к. б. н.н.с.noobissat@gmail.com+7(499)742-81-22
Мусаткина Елена Алексеевна, к. б. н.н.с.lenam14@yandex.ru
Рюмина Алина Павловнам.н.с.ryumina-07@mail.ru
Поварова Наталья Владимировнам.н.с.povarovanv@gmail.com+7(915)0447115
Злобовская Ольга Анатольевнам.н.с.olgazlob@yandex.ru+7()
Шемякина Ирина Игоревнам.н.с.
Горбачев Дмитрий Андреевичм.н.с.igorbachev@icloud.com
Божанова Нина Георгиевнаасп.nbozhanova@gmail.com
Кост Любовь Александровнаасп.lu.kurkova@gmail.com
Мамонтова Анастасия Вячеславовнаасп.sphingozin@gmail.com
Перфилов Максим Михайловичасп.sufrep@gmail.com
Гавриков Алексе Семеновичтех.-лаб.
Гладкова Любовь Николаевнаинженер+7(499)742-81-22
Колесов Данила Вадимовичинженерkolesov14@inbox.ru
Кошенкова Анастасия Владимировнаинженер
Шагин Дмитрий Алексеевич, к. б. н.ст. инж.shagdim@evrogen.ru

Ранее здесь работали:

Матвеева Надежда Константиновнапом. дир.luk.officemanager@gmail.com
Саркисян Карен Сергеевичс.н.с.durshlak@gmail.com
Ямпольский Илья Викторович, д. х. н.н.с.ivyamp@ibch.ru
Серебровская Екатерина Олеговна, к. б. н.н.с.katya_akts@ibch.ru
Маркина Надежда Михайловнам.н.с.markina.nadya@gmail.com
Белоусова Анна Алексеевнастуд.amb.ence@gmail.com

Избранные публикации (показать все)

Загружаются...

Лукьянов Константин Анатольевич

  • Москва, ул. Миклухо-Маклая, 16/10 — На карте
  • ИБХ РАН, корп. 34, комн. 522
  • Тел.: +7(495)995-55-57#2518
  • Эл. почта: kluk@ibch.ru

Фотопереключаемые красные флуоресцентные белки для наноскопии в живых клетках (2018-11-27)

Мы получили новые обратимо фотопереключаемые красные флуоресцентные белки на основе белка FusionRed. Флуоресценция этих белков, rsFusionRed1, 2 и 3, может быть “выключена” и “включена” облучением оранжевым и зеленым светом, соответственно. Это позволяет избежать облучения фототоксичным фиолетовым и синим светом, обычно используемым для других фотопереключаемых белков. Благодаря высокой яркости, высокой фотостабильности, быстрому фотопереключению и низкой фототоксичности возбуждающего света белки rsFusionRed представляют собой прекрасные метки для наноскопии живых клеток.

Публикации

  1. Pennacchietti F, Serebrovskaya EO, Faro AR, Shemyakina II, Bozhanova NG, Kotlobay AA, Gurskaya NG, Bodén A, Dreier J, Chudakov DM, Lukyanov KA, Verkhusha VV, Mishin AS, Testa I (2018). Fast reversibly photoswitching red fluorescent proteins for live-cell RESOLFT nanoscopy. Nat Methods 15 (8), 601–604

Метод флуоресцентного мечения белков в живых клетках на основе флуорогена и флуороген-связывающего белка (2017-11-28)

Мы разработали новый метод мечения целевых белков в живой клетке, названный Protein-PAINT. Метод основан на обратимом связывании белкового домена с флуорогенным красителем, что приводит к многократному увеличению интенсивности его флуоресценции. На основе результатов компьютерного молекулярного докинга, мы получили три мутантных варианта бактериального липокалина Blc с различным сродством к флуорогену. Было показано, что флуороген быстро проникает в живые клетки и вызывает окрашивание целевых белков, слитых с мутантными Blc. Новый метод обеспечивает на порядок большую фотостабильность сигнала, по сравнению с флуоресцентными белками. Protein-PAINT также позволяет проводить долговременную флуоресцентную микроскопию сверхвысокого разрешения живых клеток как в режиме детекции одиночных молекул, так и в режиме STED.

Глубокий структурно-функциональный анализ влияния аминокислотных замен на фотофизические свойства зеленых флуоресцентных белков (2016-11-24)

На примере зеленого флуоресцентного белка GFP впервые удалось экспериментально определить так называемый “ландшафт приспособленности” целого белка. Уникальный подход, разработанный в ходе работы, позволил соотнести функцию (флуоресценцию) и аминокислотную последовательность для нескольких десятков тысяч случайных мутантных вариантов с выявлением множества эпистатических (влияющих друг на друга) замен. Характеризация ландшафта приспособленности GFP делает возможным компьютерное предсказание свойств новых мутаций во флуоресцентных белках, а также имеет большое значение в различных областях науки, например, молекулярной эволюции и белковой инженерии.

С помощью расчетов возможных путей передачи электрона от возбужденного хромофора GFP к внешним молекулам и последующей экспериментальной проверки этих предположений удалось создать мутантные варианты с нарушением данных путей и, соответственно, повышенной фотостабильностью. Разработанный подход является новым в актуальной проблеме направленного создания фотостабильных вариантов флуоресцентных белков.

 

Рисунок. (А) Схема ландшафта приспособленности GFP по результатам анализа 51000 мутантов. Последовательность GFP представлена как круг, где каждая колонка соответствует одному аминокислотному остатку. Зеленым обозначены флуоресцентные варианты, черным – нефлуоресцентные. Цифры слева обозначают количество внесенных аминокислотных замен. Сайты с позитивным и негативным эпистатическим влиянием показаны зелеными и черными линиями, соответственно. Схема показывает узость пика ландшафта приспособленности GFP: 3/4 одиночных замен приводит к уменьшению яркости флуоресценции, а половина мутантов с 4-мя заменами полностью теряют флуоресценцию. (Б) Перенос электрона в GFP. Вверху - схема расчетного пути переноса электрона от хромофора на молекулу внешнего акцептора через тирозин-145 в качестве промежуточного акцептора. Внизу – кривые фотообесцвечивания EGFP и его вариантов с заменой тирозина-145 на фенилаланин или лейцин в присутствии окислителя в среде, демонстрирующие многократное увеличение фотостабильности мутантных вариантов благодаря блокировке пути переноса электрона. 

Публикации

  1. Acharya A, Bogdanov AM, Grigorenko BL, Bravaya KB, Nemukhin AV, Lukyanov KA, Krylov AI (2017). Photoinduced chemistry in fluorescent proteins: Curse or blessing? Chem Rev 117 (2), 758–795
  2. Sarkisyan KS, Bolotin DA, Meer MV, Usmanova DR, Mishin AS, Sharonov GV, Ivankov DN, Bozhanova NG, Baranov MS, Soylemez O, Bogatyreva NS, Vlasov PK, Egorov ES, Logacheva MD, Kondrashov AS, Chudakov DM, Putintseva EV, Mamedov IZ, Tawfik DS, Lukyanov KA, Kondrashov FA (2016). Local fitness landscape of the green fluorescent protein. Nature 533 (7603), 397–401
  3. Bogdanov AM, Acharya A, Titelmayer AV, Mamontova AV, Bravaya KB, Kolomeisky AB, Lukyanov KA, Krylov AI (2016). Turning on and off Photoinduced Electron Transfer in Fluorescent Proteins by π-Stacking, Halide Binding, and Tyr145 Mutations. J Am Chem Soc 138 (14), 4807–4817

Метод определения активности нонсенс-опосредованной деградации мРНК в единичных живых клетках с помощью флуоресцентных белков (2016-03-17)

Нонсенс-опосредованная деградация мРНК (NMD) является эволюционно консервативным механизмом распознавания и уничтожения транскриптов, несущих преждевременный стоп-кодон. Исследования последних лет показали, что NMD играет важную роль в глобальной регуляции экспрессии генов. Мы разработали новый репортер активности NMD, основанный на флуоресцентных белках. Особенностью данного репортера является возможность количественной оценки активности NMD на уровне единичных живых клеток, что не достигается ни одним из других известных методов. Используя NMD-репортер, мы обнаружили сильные различия активности NMD между линиями клеток млекопитающих. Также, мы впервые обнаружили явление существенной гетерогенности NMD внутри одной линии (например, HEK293, Jurkat, HaCaT), с выявлением субпопуляций клеток с высокой и низкой активностью NMD. Разработанный метод открывает принципиально новые возможности изучения как механизмов регуляции NMD, так и влияния низкой активности NMD на паттерн генной экспрессии и физиологическое состояние клетки.